Day trip

Reality offers us such wealth that we must cut some of it out on the spot, simplify. The question is, do we always cut out what we should? While we’re working, we must be conscious of what we’re doing. Sometimes we have the feeling that we’ve taken a great photo, and yet we continue to unfold. We must avoid however, snapping away, shooting quickly and without thought, overloading ourselves with unnecessary images that clutter our memory and diminish the clarity of the whole. – Henri Cartier-Bresson

I have many reasons for shooting film. Slowing myself down is part of the big picture. (Pun intended) A roll of 120 has 12 shots available with bracketing the exposure 12 shots becomes 4. This lack of space forces me to roll the day’s story more tightly. This helps me in my day to day duties. Plus gives my off-hours shooting more of a challenge. I consider that fun. :) I shot both tri-x 35mm and slide 120 film on my day trip to Lafayette. It was a beautiful blue-sky day. The above slide was scanned backwards. I left it alone for the hell of it. I used Fuji Velvia 100F in my Rolleicord.

One Response to “Day trip”

  1. what a nice photo! i love the colors. i can’t wait to see more art from the Rolleicord.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

